Windows 7; Lower your ping ingame

So i have been playing Crossfire since 2009, recently my mom bought a new laptop with windows 7. I installed Crossfire for her and noticed that she had an 150ish ping, so i did some searching on google and found a fix for it. This did work for my moms laptop, it lowered her ping down to 58 (Same ping as mine & little brother). Note: This may not work for everyone so make sure you copy what the code is before changing it.

Please follow these steps and hopefully you'll be back to your old ping after about 5-10 minutes.

1) Press the start button at the bottom left of your screen.

2) In the programs and files search bar, type regedit (You should see what appears to be a cube breaking apart as its icon, but the name should be beside it aswell.) Then open regedit. *I believe you will need administrator's permission to open this.

3) After you open regedit, you should have a rather large list of files and folders in a scroll window on the left of regedit's window. Double click or open the folder HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.

4) Under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SOFTWARE.

5) Under SOFTWARE, open Microsoft.

6) Under Microsoft, open Windows NT.

7) Under Windows NT, open CurrentVersion.

8) Under CurrentVersion, open Multimedia.

9) Under Multimedia, open SystemProfile.

10) Stop at SystemProfile and open NetworkThrottlingIndex located in the larger section to the right. (On mine I had these three names here: (Default), NetworkThrottlingIndex, and Responsiveness)

11) After opening NetworkThrottlingIndex make a backup of what ever it is before messing with it then type or paste in FFFFFFFF (I'm not sure if you have to have them in caps or not but for safety's sake, please put them in capitals. There should also be 8 of them, make sure of that.) for the value, then have the dot next to hexadecimal filled in if it's not already. Click ok. These F's may appear in lower case under the data section, either way it should be fine.