Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    In ur base, killing ur doodz
    Posts
    2,135

    Default

    Disconnect Due to Incorrect Map Info/Hack Tool Detected (in lobby)

    The cause of this error has been determined to be a configuration issue with routers. Universal Plug and Play is a mechanism that allows programs to automatically gain access through a firewall. Both routers and the Windows firewall both have uPNP capabilities.

    If you are not using a router and have the Windows firewall active, try the following to enable uPNP for the Windows firewall:

    To enable uPNP on Windows XP systems, see this guide:

    http://kbalertz.com/941206/enable-Wi...s-Windows.aspx

    To enable uPNP on Vista or Windows 7:

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...windows-vista/
    If you are using a router you will need to consult your router's documentation for the proper steps to enable uPNP. If you would like to look for the setting yourself, refer to this thread for the basic steps on how to access your router's configuration page:

    http://forum.z8games.com/showthread.php?t=62263

    Join us in IRC chat at HTTP://gamesurge.net/chat/crossfire
    Please enter your forum name before clicking on Connect
    R.I.P. Korgoth - You will be missed

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    England
    Posts
    11,494

    Default

    Issues with Anti-Virus Programs

    Anti Virus Programs known to cause issues and have guides for;

    Kaspersky Internet Security 2010
    AVG 9.0
    ESET 4 (NOD32)
    McAfee Security Centre

    NOTE: The virus detections ARE FALSE POSITIVES. Following these steps will not harm your PC in any way


    Kaspersky Internet Security 2010

    Add the entire Crossfire folder or crossfire.exe to your exceptions. You may also want to do this with XTrap too.
    To do this simply open up the KIS main page and click "Settings" then look for "Threats and Exclusions" on the right hand side and click "Options" under "Exclusions".



    Then click "Add" then make sure "Object" is checked.
    Finally click where it says "Select object" and browse to the Crossfire folder.



    Click OK until you get back to the Kaspersky main screen.



    AVG 9.0

    Open AVG and go to "Tools" "Advanced settings"



    Now go to "Resident shield" > "Excluded files" and press "Add" to add the files to the exclusions list



    Select the folder were you have your game installed, (Default: C:\Program Files\Z8Games\Crossfire)
    and add these files:



    After adding these files, press "Apply" and "OK".




    ESET 4

    Open your AV and go to "Setup" > "Advanced setup..."



    Go to "Exclusions" and add the entire Z8Games folder.
    (Default: C:\Program Files\Z8Games\Crossfire)



    Press OK




    McAfee Security Centre


    Open Mcafee and go to "Navigation" and choose "Firewall"



    Now in the tab "Program Permissions" scroll down and press "Add"



    And add these files:




    Credits to phatont for the AVG, ESET 4 and McAfee guides.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    England
    Posts
    11,494

    Default

    Crossfire Launcher Error

    This should actually be fixed now but if anyone does still have this error, they can refer to this

    Example:


    This appears to be caused by users zoom and resolution settings.

    To correct the problem, right click anywhere on the desktop, select Personalize and select Display.
    You will be taken to this page.


    This image shows the zoom at 150%. Anything above 100% will cause the launcher to glitch. Correct this by selecting the 100% option. The reduces the screen to its original size.

    Note: Check to see if your screen is set to its native resolution (as seen here)



    You will be forced to log out, simply log back into, the screen will be corrected as will the Crossfire Launcher


    Last edited by Giggletron; 25-02-11 at 06:48 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    England
    Posts
    11,494

    Default

    Mouse/Keyboard Freezing Problem

    This problem seems to be problematic for players with multi-core processors. This solution should solve any problems with your Keyboard/Mouse becoming "stuck" whilst ingame.

    Start up your game, log in and go to whatever server & room you want to.

    Then, on your keyboard, press Alt+Ctrl+Delete keys, opening up your Windows Task Manager.

    Look for Crossfire.exe. It should be towards the top of the list. If you dont see it, just left click the Image Name tab to sort the processes alphabeticaly.

    Right click on Crossfire.exe. From the drop box, left click on Set Affinity

    This will open up the Processer Afinity box. You should see CPU 0 & CPU 1 with check marks in both boxes. Or more boxes if you have more then a dual core.

    You need to have just one of these boxes check marked.
    For some reason unchecking CPU 0 & leaving CPU 1 checked doesnt fix it.
    Unchecking CPU 1 & leaving only CPU 0 checked works the best.
    Id reccomend having only CPU 0 checked, leave every other box unchecked. Bottom line, make sure only 1 box is checked then left click OK.

    Close out of Task Manager & you should go automaticaly back to your game. If not just left click the crossfire tab on your task bar. Play game & enjoy.

    This should fix freezing problems. Setting the process priority to "Low" should also with this and some other problems with the game. I personally have found setting it to this helpful.


    Credits to TimStryker for the solution and the guide
    Last edited by Giggletron; 03-03-11 at 02:45 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Guide to Performing a Clean Install of the game. (Thanks to CyberCatUK)

    *please read the entire guide*

    This guide has been written to assist users in performing a clean installation of Crossfire.

    It may help users who have problems loading/running Crossfire, including but not limited to:-
    Client File Corruption Detected

    HGW File Watcher Not Loading Correctly

    Failed to download patch file

    Disconnected from server, hack tool detected

    File is changed W[***x]

    X-Trap errors
    These problems may be caused by:-
    Incomplete installation, updates and patches.

    Anti-Virus Programs incorrectly detecting files as a potential virus and blocking/deleting them.

    Spyware/Anti-Malware programs incorrectly detecting files as a potential spyware and blocking/deleting them.

    Hacking Programs messing up/corrupting exisiting files.

    Additional unreliable 3rd party programs such as clean-up utilities and defragmenting programs, some of which can actually cause more harm than increasing performance.
    Simply installing Crossire over the top of an existing installation may not help, as files may be in use and/or files which are causing the problem may be corrupt or exist separately from the uninstall process.

    Similarly, uninstalling via Control Panel then reinstalling may have the same problem with left over files, causing the same problem again after installation. The uninstall process itself may also be corrupted resulting in a failed or incomplete removal.

    The Windows registry also contains various code/settings which may be preventing Crossfire from working properly. As previously mentioned, this code can be left behind after a standard reinstall. This may be resolved by using a recommended registry cleaning program such as CCleaner.

    If you suffer any of the above problems, please try the following.

    ** Make sure you follow this in order **

    1) Restart the computer.
    2) Remove any hacking utilities you may have used.
    3) Uninstall Crossfire the usual way:-
    Windows XP > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs
    Windows Vista/Windows 7 > Control Panel > Programs and Features (or Uninstall a Program)

    4) Restart the computer.
    5) Delete the Crossfire games folder.
    Navigate to the installation location, for example:-
    My Computer > C:\Program Files>Z8Games >
    Right click the ‘Crossfire’ folder and Delete

    6) Download, install and run CCleaner.
    [INDENT]Select Cleaner > Analyse and then 'Run Cleaner'
    Select Registry > Scan for Issues and then 'Fix selected Issues'
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner

    7) Restart the computer.
    8) Disable all anti-virus and spyware/anti-malware programs you have running.
    EG: Norton, McAfee, Spybot, Windows Defender

    9) Download and Install the latest Crossfire installer.
    At the time of writing this, the current file details should be:
    File Name : CrossFire_Setup_v1052_xfire.exe
    File Size = 467MB (478,912KB)
    (When downloading it may show files size as 468MB)

    10) Leaving your anti-virus and malware programs disabled – Test the game.
    11) If all goes well, restart the computer and test the game again.


    Note: I make no guarantees that this will solve the problem for you, but it will give you the best chance for a clean installation, before you can look at other problems which may be causing you issues, such as graphics drivers problems, file system errors or internet connection problems.
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Guide for Removing black borders on widescreens.

    While not an error CyberCatUK has come up with another guide which can help you with your graphical settings on your video card.


    Please see his guide here:
    http://forum.z8games.com/showthread.php?t=135961
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    England
    Posts
    11,494

    Default

    Skype issues with Crossfire

    The latest versions of Skype do not appear compatible with Crossfire and XTrap will force it to close upon startup.

    To use Skype with Crossfire, you must use Version 5.1 or lower.

    Here is a download link to Version 5.1
    http://www.mediafire.com/?dm3vwfg9roclstj

    This link is 100% safe and the installer was personally uploaded by me after downloading from the official website several months ago.
    For the skeptical, heres a virus scan
    http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/...e2e-1307042633

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Zombie Mode Crashing ('Send Error Report' problem)

    If you have Shadows enabled by editing your config file then you may have issues playing Cross Fire Zombie Mode. A window may pop up saying "Send Error Report".

    In order to solve this you will have to do one of the following steps:

    1. Revert the changes in the CF Files.

    2. Delete the system.dat file and run the game again (the game will create a new one with the default options selected).

    3. Uninstall the game completely and reinstall the game.


    For more information on this please check this thread.

    Lastly, please note that Z8Games does not condone the editing of files within the Cross Fire directory. If you experience a game error because of this we may not be able to help you with technical support.
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •