Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default Common Solutions to CrossFire Errors

    Welcome to the Common Solutions for Cross Fire.

    Last Updated: Sept 22, 2011


    Latest Update: Zombie Mode "Send Error Report"

    Please try these solutions to common loading and errors within Cross Fire. You may also submit a support ticket or speak to the GM's on the Tech Support Forums if you have any further information or suggestions for this thread or for helping on any other common issue.

    For ease of searching the format for this thread will be listed as the Problem in a post followed by the solutions to try.

    Lastly, these solutions may not work for everyone. All computers are made differently and what causes problems on one may be different than another. These generally work for most users. If it does not please try to post in the Tech Support Forum with your issue and we'll see if anyone else can help.
    Last edited by Giggletron; 02-06-11 at 03:37 PM.
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default Rebooting your Computer

    Rebooting the Computer and Reinstalling the Game

    If you get an error within Cross Fire the number one thing to make sure to do is reboot the computer.

    Performing a 'clean boot' of the computer can also be recommended for trouble shooting conflicts. To preform a Clean Boot please refer to this site:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796

    This is to help trouble shoot conflicts with other programs and not a solution by itself, but it should let you know if any other program is the reason for the problem.

    Uninstalling and Reinstalling the Game

    The second most important thing to try with regards to loading errors in Cross Fire is to uninstall the game and reinstall from a new mirror.

    To do this follow these steps:

    - Control Panel -> Z8Games -> CrossFire -> Uninstall CrossFire
    - Open Up My Computer
    - Delete the CF directory (Program Files/Z8Games/CrossFire/)
    - Delete the CF directory (<user>/Document/CrossFire/)
    - Disable your anti virus
    - Download the newest client from our downloads site
    - Install the game from the new download
    - Add the entire crossfire folder to your antivirus exceptions
    - Re-enable realtime protection

    Cross Fire does not contain viruses, however some anti virus scanners will modify game files as you install them. Make sure to disable your Anti-Virus during download and installation. You can add the folders to the exceptions later to re-enable your virus scanner.

    As a secondary solution try changing the installation path directory.

    Additionally please see this post in this thread:
    http://forum.z8games.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=15

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Your Anti-Virus Scanner Detects a Virus

    AVG Specifically, but some other virus scanners will sometimes detect False Positives within the game files for Cross Fire.

    This is a false detection. Cross Fire does not contain viruses. Xtrap searches the computer and some free scanners think this action is a virus. It is not.

    To solve this problem make sure to add the entire Cross Fire directory to your exceptions folder. Including the HGW File Watcher AND Xtrap directories and programs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    FILE IS CHANGED W[2007] L[0] and other File Changed/Forged Errors

    - Uninstall the game completely
    - Disable your antivirus' realtime protection
    - Redownload the game
    - Install the game
    - Add the entire crossfire folder to your antivirus exceptions
    - Re-enable realtime protection

    If you downloaded the game with your antivirus active, it may be 'cleaning' the rez file upon download.


    The source File is corrupted

    This is similar to the previously mentioned "File is changed" error. If your antivirus software's realtime scanner is active while you are downloading the game, it could result in corruption of the download. Temporarily disable your realtime scanner, then redownload the game client. Keep realtime scanning disabled while you install the game. Make sure to add the entire Crossfire folder to your antivirus' exceptions list before you re-enable the realtime scanner.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Error in initrender ()

    This error can be caused by several things:

    Outdated DirectX installation

    Download the most current DirectX installer from microsoft here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...D-85FC422D1388

    Outdated Video Drivers

    First and foremost, you need to know what kind of video card you have. From the start menu type dxdiag into the search box (Select Run and type dxdiag for Windows XP). Navigate to the display tab. You will see your video card name at the top left.

    Visit your video card manufacturer's website and download the most recent display drivers for your video card. Laptop owners will usually need to download drivers from their laptop's manufacturer, as the drivers from the video card manufacturer will likely not install.
    Also, if you experience this error immediately after reinstalling Windows the video driver may not even be installed. If the video card name appears as "Standard VGA", the proper drivers are not installed.

    Underpowered Hardware

    Unfortunately there are still a lot of people who are using older video cards. Some of these cards may not be capable of rendering the game properly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    XTrap Errors

    When Xtrap is not working correctly it will usually kick out an error code and an error message. If you can not figure out what they mean then please post in the following thread the details so we can help get it solved.


    Program Conflicts with Xtrap


    Some Programs will conflict with the operation of Xtrap. The first thing you should do if you get an error is to make sure to close all other programs. This includes launching style programs like Xfire, the ESL Game Launcher, Steam and other such programs.

    Macro Programs will also not work with Xtrap. Macro Express and other such programs will not let you run CF.

    Some Video Capture Programs can also cause issues. Make sure to close Fraps or other video capture programs to see if this solves the problem.


    Software Conflict - Defender Pro

    Defender Pro has a software option called "Game Mode". In order to run Cross Fire you must have this software turned to Game Mode in order to launch Cross Fire properly.

    Please note that to update Defender Pro you have to turn this mode off so don't forget to put it back once the update is complete.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Keyboard Problems

    If your Keyboard is not set to US ENGLISH STANDARD then some game settings and functions may not work properly.

    To change your keyboard settings in VISTA and Windows 7:


    - Click Start and then Control Panel
    - Open Clock, Language, and Region Settings
    - Click on Regional and Language Options
    - Click the Keyboards and Languages tab and then click Change keyboards
    - Under Installed services, click Add
    - In the Add Input Language dialog box, select the keyboard layout you would like to add from the list available and click OK
    - The keyboard layout you added will be included in the list. To set the new layout as your default, select it from the list. Click OK to save your changes
    - You can switch between different input languages (= keyboard languages) by clicking on the Language Bar button or by pressing the Alt + Shift keys

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    Using Name Change Item Fails

    Sometimes using the in-game name change item will fail.

    This is caused by one of two reasons.
    1. The first reason is that the name is already in use. Please check the clan page for that name to see if there is someone else using it.

    2. The second reason is that you have previously held that name on your account. The system doesn't release all names even if you have changed it from a previous one.
    You will have to contact support in order to have your name manually changed. You will still be required to purchase the name-change item from the mall to do so.
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,388

    Default

    HGW Socket Errors (10053)

    Socket Errors are most likely caused by a terminated connection on the Host Machine.

    This means that something is affecting the connection between your computer and the servers running the HGW file watcher, Xtrap or the Game.

    1. Almost always this can be corrected with patience and by waiting until the initial rush for updating the game is over.

    2. Other times this can be corrected by restarting your modem/router or flushing your dns and checking to make sure your connection is stable.

    3. Also try to use Google to research the particular socket error you see. The error message can often times be searched to give hints to it's solution.

    4. Finally always try uninstalling and reinstalling the game. If the connection was broken during an update some of the game files may not have patched properly. This means that an uninstall and a reinstall may be required.
    #freesaidin
    [Former CrossFire Game Manager]
    Click Here to submit a
    Support Ticket

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    In ur base, killing ur doodz
    Posts
    2,135

    Default

    Access Violation Error Caused by cf_g4box.exe

    If you have an outdated installation of Internet Explorer you may receive the following error:

    AppName: cf_g4box.exe AppVer: 1.0.0.3 ModName: kernel32.dll
    ModVer: 5.1.2600.5512 Offset: 0000a368
    To correct this please update to the most recent version (IE8 at the time this was posted). Not only should this correct the error, but since IE is tied very tightly to windows it should also improve overall system stability/security.
    Last edited by [Greycloak]; 13-05-10 at 11:25 PM.

    Join us in IRC chat at HTTP://gamesurge.net/chat/crossfire
    Please enter your forum name before clicking on Connect
    R.I.P. Korgoth - You will be missed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •